Science Day

On Friday, I got to miss half of school for Science Day. I went to the elementary school thinking I was going to do it because my friend had forced me to. After it finished though, I was ready to go help with the next Science Day. Science Day is the day where all of the little elementary school kids get to pick scientific topics, and then go to 5 of them to learn about the topic.

My job was to be one of the little kids’ “teachers” on one of the topics. I was in a group with my friends, and we were in charge of the station “Super Soda Fountains.” We were supposed to teach the kids how the science works when mentos are put into a carbonated drink to make a chemical reactions with the pores in the mentos to make the bubbles in the drink quickly rise to the top. Or, if translated to little-kid-talk: what makes a mento and soda go boom. We ran a slideshow on the scientific method, and then took the kids outside and actually put 7 mentos in 5 different kinds of sodas to see which one went the highest.

5 teachers, 3 kids per teacher, explosions- no problem right? We had 4 sessions in total- session 1: A kid pulled the string to early, and it blew up off time, and one of the sodas fell over while blowing up. Session 2 went okay: everything went correctly, but we finished early and had to stall for 10 minutes. Session 3 was fine-ish: everything was timed perfectly, but the results were waaaay off from epwaht hey were supposed to be. Session 4 was a mess: 2 of the sodas exploded sideways and got most people wet.

Now, this was what happened, but I never said I didn’t like it-Science Day was awesome! It was so fun to hear the little kids talking about random stuff, and we had extra sodas left so I got to take home a 2 liter bottle of rootbeer!

4 thoughts on “Science Day

  1. Teacher for a day! Glad you had that experience, Dillon. I’m sure the children appreciated you–sounds like you all had fun!

  2. I did Science Day too! In our sessions they finally went right for the first time since all the other Science Days before.

  3. I also do science day too! It’s really fun for me because I really like our stations. We still have one more to go!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *